Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

View along the River Wreake (16" x12")

This is a painting from a photo I took on my phone when we were out walking by the river one sunny day a few months ago. I attempted this painting in oils but failed miserably and had to wipe it all off..

But I returned to the source photo with using my student grade acrylics to do this kind of impressionistic realism. It was the first time I've done an acrylic painting in this style, but I had great fun doing this.  I'm still learning about how to use acrylics, and there are a lot of mistakes, but I think it looks abstract up close and realistic from a distance. I think my impressionistic style is developing and there is a lot of new things to try with this and acrylics.

tassieguyBuckygeoffrey_38Gary_HeathHilaryL.DuranGTOdencalPaulBBOB73

Comments

• Looks groovy to me! I like the clouds in the distance and the narrowing of the river. The warmth of the dirt looks nice.
  • edited June 18
    Love it. I think this is your best landscape, Richard. Values look good and I love the looseness and texture. The deep blue shadows on the foreground water are beautiful. 

If this were mine there is one little thing more I might do: I'd try some reflections in the river where we have that narrow sliver of blue water squeezed in along the righthand bank. It may be in your reference but I'd want to break that line because it directs me away from the beauty of the foreground water. 

But this may just be me. And it's such a minor thing in what I think it a very good landscape. I hope you do more.  :)
  • Thank you Rob. Interestingly I didn't colour match the mixes, just a rough guess, so if you get the values roughly right it all works.