Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Greetings from California!

Hi everyone,

I’m very enthused to be apart of this community. I am pretty new to the medium of oil, and looking to improve my value and color representation. I’ve been an artist my whole life, and I really hope to learn allot from everyone here! I am so thankful for finally being able to grow as an artist for myself. 

Below is my first oil painting from life. My current living situation doesn’t allow me to use solvents and thinners, so I’ve been using water mixable oils until I can find a more ventilated space to work in.  

Thanks for your time,

Jacob

alsart2GTOdencalArtGalBOB73MichaelD

Comments

• I like it.  I like the turquoise and lemon  color selection.  If you want critiques, please say so.  Some do and others don't.

• Nice work Jacob.  Welcome to the forum.
    i work in a no ventilated room.  I use no solvents.  I use walnut oil mixed with some clove oil.
    i dip brushes in safflower oil between sessions.

• Hi, @JacobDuane. Welcome to the forum.  :)
  • JacobDuane

Hello and Welcome.

Great still life.

Denis

• Thanks everyone! Since I'm totally learning, I'd love some advice.

I'm working on my second painting right now, and I'll post another thread for feedback. Actually taking a couple days to set something up with better lighting so I can read the values easier. I just watched Mark's video on setting up a still life, and I'm going to take his advice and mess around with the composition for a bit before jumping into the painting. 

GTO said:
    Nice work Jacob.  Welcome to the forum.
    i work in a no ventilated room.  I use no solvents.  I use walnut oil mixed with some clove oil.
    i dip brushes in safflower oil between sessions.