Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Help...Portrait

Hi! I am a new member and just found Mark’s video series last week. I have watched hours. 
So I am an abstract artist. Portraits stress me out.
This is a portrait I am working on as a graduation gift for a sweet young gal.  I am having an issue with the hair getting milky, and -absorbing the highlights, as I like to use a ton of layers and the paint in some areas On the face is not sticking to the canvas very well. It looks okay from a distance but up close I can see grain. Still working on the hair.
I just don’t want to give a gift that looks hokey.
Please advise if this is savable or burn pile🤷‍♀️.

Comments

• I want you to paint my portrait! Looks lovely.
    LBDavis
  • LBDavis

Welcome to the Forum.

Hair: Looking good. Needs some near black darks in shadow areas. A few highlight streaks will provide the pop contrast. Reduce white paint In the mix to the minimum.

Face: Layering is about colour and value adjustment. Smooth transitions can be obtained by glazing or using Mark’s method of tiling colour checked value strings to obtain an optical mixing.
    Important to keep to the ‘fat over lean’ rule in any method. To apply a wet over dry patch, try ‘oiling out’ a small area as prep treatment.

Denis

LBDavisTramontane
  • Welcome to the forum.
    LBDavis
  • HI, @LBDavis. Welcome to the forum. :) 

She's a very pretty girl. Are you working from a photo? It helps us give constructive criticism if you also post the photo you are working from.  :)
    LBDavis
  • @tassieguy thank you. Yes it is from a photo. The photo was super photoshopped and I had to dial it down a lot.  I will try to post a pic.
  • @LBDavis - Welcome, I'm also an abstract artist transitioning to realism and totally understand where you're coming from.