Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Color Mixing Groups

Is it standard practice to mix a variety of steps for major color groups as Mark Carder teaches or do some people mix each color as they need them while painting? I do the latter because it seems like too much prep work but I am new at this and wasn't sure if it is just preference.

Comments

• For the method, you need to go through everything he mentioned in his videos. regular mixing comes after you're done with this training.
  • I don't do large batches of steps any more. But I think it's important to do so when you're just starting out. I had to do it for ages. But once you have a good understanding of colour mixing it's then possible to do it on the wing. Mixing as you go can save paint but only after you've practiced mixing steps and can know pretty much straight away how to mix a particular colour. Otherwise you can end up wasting a lot of paint. :)  
    BOB73
  • Nobody regrets following Carder's color mixing steps when they were starting out. This teaches values as much as colors and teaches you how to mix colors in a way that is more intuitive but as @tassieguy said it takes time and there are no set rules on how many paintings or how much time it will take for  each person. A few months or a few years; every one is different.