Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Solvent free slow dry medium

Hello fellow artists!

I've been using oil paints now for 6 years or so and bought Marks Geneva line of paints a year ago... and what can I say.... I LOVE IT. Every time I use it its a delight. However I do have quite a large collection of paints from other brands, with some colors that I really like or some power-colors.
I want to use them together with the geneva paint but of course they behave differently; I specifically miss the leveling properties and the long open time on the palette in them. I thought of trying out Marks recipe of a SDM on the DMP website but it contains 10 parts odorless mineral spirits which is exactly the thing that I want to avoid.

My question now is: does someone know a recipe or have experience with a solvent free slow dry medium that acts remotely similar to the geneva paint? Key characteristic should be solvent free, and leveling surface, the drying time doesn't have to be 5 to 10 days.

thank you and best wishes
Chris

cadia

Comments

• C_Geier

Welcome to the Forum.

Replace the OMS with citrus solvent (ZestIt).

or

Experiment with Gamblin’s solvent free fluid

https://gamblincolors.com/studio-safety/solvent-free-painting/

the gel and fluid has a modified soy oil alkyd component which speeds drying 36 to 48 hours.
    Some clove oil may extend this out to a week.

Using Mark’s SDM for a decade in a well ventilated space, mixed into paint all that is noticeable is the clove oil. I use small closed containers and only bring out what I might need for the next hour. No solvent or rags used, just paper towel and walnut oil with 2% clove oil for brush cleaning and storage immersion.

Denis

C_Geiercadia
  • I just use walnut alkyd with paint. You could just use walnut oil to have it dry slowly.