Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

How much acrylic paint do I need?

Hi, I have never painted before but I'm going to be taking my first class online Wednesday and I bought a 12x12 canvas and I have no idea how much paint I need. All they said was that I needed acrylic paint but not how much I would need. I added a pic of the painting I chose to show what colors are on the painting. Sorry, I'm a total newbie here and know absolutely nothing about painting. I really need help please. Thank you 

Comments

• dew

Buy a basic set of acrylics, say a box of ten tubes. I assume you will want to paint other pictures in future.
    About 10 to 15 mls in fluid quantity will cover a 12x12, more or less depending on how much water or medium you use.

Denis

dew
  • Thank you! I really appreciate it! 
  • @dencal, do you think she will need pthalo green or Cadmium Red? Specifically for this painting I mean?
    dew
  • BOB73

The course materials supplied when dew signs up should advise the palette colours.

Denis

dew
  • dencal, you would think so but they didn't. So, I just figure I'll buy something like you showed me. I didn't have time to have that shipped to me so I need to go to Walmart anyway so I'll see what they have that's similar to what you showed