Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Homemade canvas and stretcher bars

Hello,

I am new to painting and am fortunate enough to be part of a free art school. However, I now want to take my art home and take this hobby a little more seriously. 

Trouble is I am on a budget. 

I have set up a cheap studio space with proper lighting (as per Mark Carders recommendations) and have bought high quality paints and brushes. The next step/expense is canvas, which to me seems way overpriced!

As an avid YouTube learner I did some research and it seems good old painters drop cloth is a popular alternative to pricey art store canvas. I know Mark Carder uses an acrylic primed rolling hills linen canvas on pre-made stretcher bars. But for me that is way to expensive.

So, my solution:

Buy 2x2 or 2x1 planks, cut to size with mitre saw. Bevel an edge with an electric planer. Drill and screw together corners. 

Buy a commercial painters canvas drop cloth and cut to measure predetermined stretcher bar size and stretch.

Buy or make my own acrylic gesso and give the canvas a generous couple of coats. Sand to desired texture and paint!

Any comments would be much appreciated. :)

Comments

• edited March 29
    That should work, @geofffery_38. Linen is very expensive and a bit of a waste when we are just starting out. I still use cotton canvas. If you are handy with a saw there's no reason why you can't make your own stretchers. I imagine the trick will be making sure they are square. Don't worry about not being able to use the most expensive materials. They are unnecessary. The important thing is to get painting. If you paint a masterpiece the conservators will know how to conserve it.

Welcome to the forum. :)
    geoffrey_38
  • geoffrey_38

Yes. I’ve seen YouTube videos using drop sheets on 4x2s for large canvases.