Can an artist oil out an acrylic painting to make the painting look oily like an oil painting?

edited December 2019 in Painting
Artists,
I have a question that might seem weird to all of you. I have been painting in oils for 5 years and lately I've been experimenting a lot just trying to find the best way to be efficient, best mediums to use etc... I met a fellow artist who only paints using acrylics. Before I discovered draw mix paint and Mark Carder I was painting in acrylics and I hated them.... I think they are way harder to work with than oils. Long story short, I tried them again now that I have been painting with oils for 5 years and I kinda love them... they dry real fast making it possible for me to layer and glaze and do all sorts of impasto styles in a very short time... the one thing I don't like is how matted they are even when you add a gloss medium... which gets annoying trying to add them to your paints all the time... I was wondering if there was an expert in acrylics if I could oil out a painting when I'm totally finished with the painting to give it that oily look. Sounds kinda crazy, but everyone who paints usually tries to manipulate acrylics to look like oils... couldn't we just make them oils by oiling them out at the end? Many will tell me the painting will yellow over time like an oil painting... i guess thats fine, we will varnish-like we do with oil paints anyway... 

So the question is: 

1). Can an artist oil out a finished acrylic painting to make the painting look oily like an oil painting?

2). If you can oil out an acrylic painting, is it then considered an oil painting? 

Mark

ps. I had an acrylic painting i didn't care for so I decided to give it a shot... looks great, fresh, and oily... :) The question is what will happen overtime...?

Comments

• CJDCJD -
    edited December 2019