Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

realism vs. abstraction

Hello, my name is Curt Nelson. I'm interested in learning your painting methods but am unsure of what you mean by the term realism in defining painting style. I'm interested in some abstraction and am frustrated by my own inability to stray from depicting what I see realistically. I guess what you mean by realism is the faithful representation of colors and forms seen by the artist. To me, this is what photography does, although as you are an admirer of J S Sargent whose paintings do not look like photographs, I think your definition of realism must be somewhat different. I am a complete novice who needs to learn all of the technical aspects of oil painting but ultimately I want to introduce abstraction to my paintings. I would love to hear you discuss realism and abstraction. 

Comments

• Photorealism is where you try to make the painting look as much like a photo as possible when seen from any distance.

Realism in terms of Sargent is where the painting looks realistic from a distance but when seen close up the individual brush marks are visible and it looks abstracted and unrealistic.

That is the effect that a lot of artists admire.
    JerryWmaiareiniocadia
  • There are other artists whose technique may be easier to understand, yet they still use some abstraction in the brushwork. Morgan Weistling is a good one. Sargent is harder to emulate.
  • Thank you, Richard_P
    I love Sargent. And I imagine that learning to paint with realism is a prerequisite to learning abstraction.
    MyArtsClub
  • Thanks to you all for helping me to understand the meaning of realism.  :)
  • GTO said:

I think it’s good to ask ourselves why do we love to paint?  What do we have to say?  Or maybe there’s nothing left to say.  It’s all been said before.