Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Need Tips for Writing an Artist Bio

I'm getting around to putting together a website, and I'm kind of stumped on how to approach the bio page.
I'm new to painting (2 years now) so I've never written an artist bio before which is why I guess it seems daunting. Main questions:

1) Should it be in first person or 3rd person? I've read many different opinions on this.
2) Is it o.k. if the bio is REALLY short, like a three or four sentence paragraph? 

Thanks for any other suggestions as well.

Bucky
MichaelDPaulB

Comments

• I can show you the one I use with the gallery if you like.
  • BOB73BOB73 -
    edited September 29
    @dencal that statement looks like it was plagiarized from a want ad for a psychologist. Just kidding. I've seen many of that genre of artists who are interested in people knowing their agenda or objective in art. I think of a bio as something more like what forum members write in their introductions. I suppose it is different for an artist transitioning to a professional level. 

1. who I am
    2 where I came from and/or where I want to be
    3. what I paint
    4. why I paint
    5. goals
    6. education, experience, accomplishments/awards, associations
    7. Contact information.
  • @dencal, love that artybollocks generator 😅👌
    dencal
  • Bucky said:
    1) Should it be in first person or 3rd person? I've read many different opinions on this.
    2) Is it o.k. if the bio is REALLY short, like a three or four sentence paragraph? 

3rd person, I was told, by gallery owners during a portfolio review.  I figured that supersedes other advice I've been given.  The idea is that they can copy/paste it into a brochure without having to think or reword it.