Signing paintings

As I've started improving my work after watching Mark's videos, I still struggle with signing them in a more "painterly" way.  I'm wondering what type of brushes forum members use to sign, and any other suggestions you may have.  Thanks!
(Apologize if this has been covered, but I didn't find anything using the forum search option)

Comments

• Csontvary

Use the other end of your paintbrush to sign into wet paint with a dry, contrasting underlayer (Sgraffito).
    Practice and develop a standardised, confident signature, appropriate for the canvas size.
    Initial and surname with optional year is fine, but so to are initials or a readable logo.
    Alternately, a rigger is a useful brush to paint a signature.

Denis
    PaulBCsontvary
  • PaulBPaulB mod
    Some galleries insist on a full name.
    Csontvary
  • dencal - I will try both options. Thanks.
  • While I'm somewhat casual about it since I'm a hack amateur who doesn't sell his works, a friend of mine had a successful artist friend die unexpecantly at a young age leaving his widow a studio filled with paintings and watercolors ...all unsigned.   No galley or collector will touch them.  Instead of a rich catalogue to support his widow, she has several dumpsters of waste as she faces hardship.  Even if he had just initialed them they would have remained marketable.

I have three-levels of authorship;
    - The good stuff gets a signature and the date.  Typically the year unless it's part of an en plein air series that might get the day or just month since it's part of a grouping.
    - Studies, and decent sketches on loose-paper, get initials.  Maybe the year sometimes just on the back.
    - The stuff that might be of-interest later get a stamp of my initials I carved in the end of an eraser; studies, free sketches, etc....  Though I doubt anyone will ever care, but stranger things happen.  Periodically when I'm straightening-up a make stack and stamp-away.