New, alternatives to the expensive DIY slow dry medium

Hi,

I've been mostly a drawer and am now dabbling in oils. However I am also a student and can't afford to buy all the things to make up the slow dry medium that is suggested.

What could I use as an alternative?
I have lots of time on my hands at the moment so perhaps I don't need to increase the working time as much.

Comments

• N930

Drop the Venetian Turpentine off the list to save costs. The clove oil will extend the open time.
    Keep all your mixed values and stock color in small airtight containers to minimise loss and waste.

It is entirely fine to dilute the tube color with stand oil alone. Or you can use walnut or linseed oil with tube color. Many artists use straight tube color. In fact Geneva paint is formulated to be the right consistency for painting without the addition of a medium.

Denis

• Is tung oil ever recommended, it is a nice pure oil, traditionally often used in paints in the region of it's extraction.
  • I am in British Columbia, Canada, and am looking to buy pure Venice turpentine - does anyone have any idea whether Bickmore or Hawthorne are good enough to use as a medium? Seems the only somewhat affordable options I can find....

• TamDi

Please experiment and tell us about the virtues and vices of Tung oil.
    Never heard of it being used. Seems to be quite a slow drier. Not a bad thing in the DMP Method.

Here is a mention from MITRA. https://www.artcons.udel.edu/mitra/forums?TermStoreId=f693f41b-7187-4bfa-aa26-57e9c613807e&TermSetId=0dd3e557-e0a7-483c-b104-57c2dba3b2bf&TermId=3faeba6e-7884-486e-820d-9b8060826fc2