Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Art Lessons for 5 year Old

I have a friend of a friend who has a 5 year old daughter who is interested in having me give her art lessons. 1 hour a time. How does one go about charging. I'm not good at these things... I almost want to say just tip me what you are able. But it's also my time and energy. 20$ for 2 sessions a week? Or $10 for one session. 

Comments

• Depends what country you are in, what socio-economic demographic area, your ability and knowledge as a teacher. We need a bit more info.
    JoyLovePeace
  • JoyLovePeace

Suggest you model your fees on piano / music teachers, around $25 per half hour (in Australia).
    Could also include a materials fee for paint and canvas etc.

Denis
    JoyLovePeace
  • A 5y-o, ask for combat pay. $10 an hour is charity. $45 an hour is reasonable if you provide materials. for $10 an hour I wouldn't even watch MC videos with a child.
    JuliannaJoyLovePeace
  • Hey @JoyLovePeace    You mentioned you were going to introduce yourself and I am missing that thread so I don't know your background etc.... Welcome to the forum BTW in case I missed it.

A 5 year old is a precious soul so I just pray you are a teacher with expertise in knowing the age tendencies and maintaining their love of art.  That is priceless for the rare individuals who are able to teach it.  

An hour sounds like a hell of a long time for a 5 year old to me but what do I know?
    BOB73JoyLovePeace