Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Digital Camera VS iPhone 6

I am in my first year of painting, using photos exclusively as my source that were taken with my iPhone 6. As beautiful as the photos look on my phone, the printed out version is always less impressive -- the exposure, colors, values, are distorted. And I always have them printed at a reputable, professional print shop. 
So, I'm thinking of buying a digital camera, but my budget is limited -- in the $500 - $700 range. I'm thinking specifically of the Sony Alpha A6000. 

I know next to nothing about cameras. My question is simple: Will a digital camera such as this one, in the low - middle range quality, produce significantly better printouts than photos taken by my iPhone 6? From the research I've done, it seems like a digital camera would be better but I'd rather not spend the money if the results would be similar.
Thanks. 

Comments

• PaulBPaulB mod
    Having a nice camera won't change anything about how your prints come out, because you are not mentioning resolution, only exposure and color.  An iPhone 6 will take 5MB photographs, which are just fine when blown up to 11" x 17" for lamination.

The problem is that you are probably comparing the screen on the phone to the printed material, and one of those is a bright backlit screen, the other requiring reflected light.  They will never look the same.

You're better off editing the photos in software and adjusting colors so that when printed, it looks closer to what you want.  Alternately get a printer so you can do this yourself.
  • PaulBPaulB mod
    To actually answer your question (sorry, forgot), then yes, a digital camera will take better photos, and offer you more control.  In fact, you probably cannot buy a digital camera that takes photos as low resolution as an iphone.