Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Linen oil taking forever to dry

Hi, I'm new to oil painting and trying to reproduce a Sorolla piece. Not an easy one I admit but very motivating. I think I might have done a mistake and would like to hear how would you go about correcting it. I used a standard oil painting medium for most of the work and it worked fine. However at some point I decided to test pure linen oil, a bottle I have had for almost 20 years (yeah, it stayed there in a box from high school). The parts where I used linen oil take forever to dry. Now almost two months and the shine is still there. I am posting a picture so maybe someone can suggest what to do? On the picture you can see the black dress on the man in front, parts are matte while others are still shining. Same thing on the ox-es. That was all painted at the same time, about two months ago. Can this be from using pure linen and what to do next? I would't go over it because of the fat over lean rule, and I'm not sure will the shine stay there for good. I need to go over it because colors and values have to be restated. Thanks everyone.

Comments