Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

question about mark's teaching method and portraits

Mark says that students of his method should paint 10 complicated or 20 simple still lifes. And I know he thinks it's good to learn to paint from life. I'm brand new at all of this and eager to begin! But what I really want to paint is portraits. So I'm wondering, if I really want to follow Mark's method to the letter, should I still paint the 10/20 still lifes first before turning to portraits? I will if that's what Mark believes is the best way to learn to paint. But I'm wondering if I can substitute some of those first 10/20 paintings with portraits.

I've also noticed that there's not much on the website on how to paint portraits from life. Does anyone paint portraits entirely from life, without using photos at all? Do I need to buy the $100 video to learn more about portrait painting specifically, or have I missed something that's free on the site?

Comments

• I agree, and well said, @PaulB:)  
    PaulB
  • Thank you. Yes, I want to use the process exactly, and I understand I should begin with still life, but I wasn't sure when/where it was appropriate to try a portrait. Thanks again.
  • BOB73BOB73 -
    edited August 26
    Welcome and good luck. Best advice is to go slow and follow the method exactly. What you learn painting still-lifes easily transfers to portraits later on. 
    marta
  • Painting from a live model requires a lot of time from the model.
  • Portraits are very hard. I would say don't make yourself crazy. Try a portrait or two. Just don't let it distract you from your main studying and more importantly don't get discouraged because it may be really bad.
  • CJDCJD -
    edited August 26