Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

beginner in Philly

Hi, I'm Marta, and I'm a fiction writer, but in the past year or so I've had a yen to make visual art. Until just recently I hadn't done anything but by a few supplies and think how nice it would be to know how to use them. About two months ago I found an inexpensive (I'm totally broke) online drawing class that was great, and it was a revelation to me that one can actually learn to draw (in middle age no less!). I mean that I have no sense at all that I have natural talent, and at 53, you would think I would have discovered it if I did. But there's so much one can just learn, and then practice. So I began obsessively sketching, especially this close-up of my son's face, which I snapped on my phone outside the security check-in at the airport as he was about to fly away on a vacation. It's a terrible photo, but I enlarged it dramatically and it helped me to see all the different values in his skin. Of course now I want to paint, and before I even got started, I found this site. I already had a beginner set of Winsor and Newton oils (I will buy some Geneva paints just as soon as I have some money!), and I'm so excited to begin mixing colors. The thing is, I will have to paint from a photo because my son is 15 and has ADHD and will never sit for me for any length of time. I have no background in photography, and all I have is an iPhone (SE), and I need some tips for taking a good photo of my son's face close-up for color-matching. I will also post this in the photography forum, but if anyone can give me tips or send me to a video on the site that would help, I'm specifically interested in how to photograph for a portrait, specifically in order to color match skin tones.