Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Geneva paint coverage

Hi All,

I have decided to buy some of the Geneva oils to support the project and hopefully have some nicer paints. I am currently using the W&N student range so I am sure a big step up.

As I am new to oils I wondered if anyone could give a guide as to how much coverage you can expect from a 100ml tube? I know this is a piece of string thing but a guide would be great. For example, with my acrylics when I am painting a lot of sea and sky scenes I tend to get through a 60ml tube of ultramarine every 10-12 A4 size paintings.

Thanks!

Comments

• You're right, we're measuring a piece of string here.

I have (more or less) been using the same set of Geneva paints for over thirteen months.  All the tubes are getting empty now, but I'm quite not done yet.  I did start a new Black, and am about to start a new BU.  In this time I have completed 20 paintings, mostly small, one large, with several still in progress.  I paint every day.  I don't waste any paint, so I don't leave large puddles on the palette, and I paint thinly, and use any leftover mixed colors to stain small panels.

I also think one tube of cadmium red and phthalo blue is a lifetime's supply.

I'm surprised at how long this set of paint has lasted.  I think Geneva paint looks like a large investment at purchase time, but if you compare artist grade paint and the ingredients for SDM I believe the cost is within 10%.  I made a spreadsheet of this because I didn't believe it myself.  I was wrong.

Compared to a student paint, there will be more pigment, and you will therefore use less of it.  This will take some adjustment on your part, as your tendency will be to continue using the amounts you are using now.