Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Mediums for closed studio with no ventilation

Hi All,

First off enormous thanks to Mark for this site and content. I am a developer by trade so a lover of open source but I didn't expect this quality of content to be available for free. Just incredible.

Anyway, I just so happened to make the decision to spend all my free time painting for a few years to see if I could get to a place that I am somewhat OK :) It seems this is the place for me.

I am looking at getting everything set up this week in terms of the studio. The one downside that I have is that my only available space for a studio is my garage, but this has no ventilation. I wondered if it would be possible to only use walnut oil as a medium for my oils? I really am not good with solvents and as there will be 0 air flow I really need to find an alternative.

Lastly, what is the best way to support this project? Is there a patreon account or just buying things from the Geneva art store?

Thanks all,
Jamie
PaulBRenoir

Comments

• PaulBPaulB mod
    Hi Jamie, I'm an engineer and open source developer who paints.  This is the right place.

You can buy paint and gear from Geneva Fine Arts, that's a direct way to support the teachings of Mark, or you can buy his videos or take a class with him.  Geneva paint is non-toxic, and I use it in an unventilated room.  It smells of clove oil.

I have to say that "a few years" to get to a place that you are somewhat okay will be easily achieved.  I would say "a few paintings" is more like it, if you conscientiously apply the method.
    jhc1982BOB73Renoir
  • Jamie

Geneva is designed to be free of toxic mediums and should not need any additional medium.