Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

cleaning and caring for brushes

I would love to paint everyday but I cannot afford to do that so, I am a part time artist.
I travel for my work and sometimes i can't paint for two weeks at a time.

I usually would use soap and water  to clean my brushes after each use.  After listening to one of Marks videos
I decided not to wash my brushes and I tried dipping my brushes in Linseed oil as suggested.

When I tried to use the brushes again I found that most were not very pliable and some were hard.

What to do?  

Comments

• Your linseed oil dried.  You might be able to restore them with solvent.  I resuscitated a hard brush with repeated dips in OMS and working hte brush.  Some people restore brushes with soap.

I use Geneva Brush Dip, which is more than just oil.  I clean off a brush minimally with a paper towel, then brush dip keeps the brushes wet for a few weeks.
  • Hi @Onerom1945, did you have clove oil mixed in with the linseed oil?
  • The Geneva brush dip is so cheap and so good that I can't imagine using anything else.  You can make it yourself with safflower oil and some clove oil but Mark sells it to you for the price of the materials basically so why bother.  I have left my brushes for longer than 2 weeks with no issues.  I do recommend a good dabbing and squeezing with a paper towel before the final dunk to make it last as long as possible.  Be sure to squeeze the brush out before using it to paint.  It won't hurt your paint or painting but extends the dry time.