Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Hello currently working on first DMP painting.

edited March 13 in Introduce Yourself
Hello.  I have little to no experience painting, I used some of my wife's oil paints probably about 10 years ago and painted a still life.  I did take a drawing class in college aproximately 40 years ago.  Then last fall (2017) I set up a little studio in the old "coal room" in our basement.  Low ceiling and very small with an actual coal chute.  I started one still life using a book on oil painting I got for christmas a couple years back.  Part way through the painting I came across Mark's videos and then after finishing this first painting, started trying to build a shadow box, paint some walls black etc.  I ran into a lot of difficulty following the DMP method mainly due to my very low ceilings, but it still seemed worthwhile.  I have nearly finished my first DMP painting, and learned quite a bit from the experience.  Now I'll wrap that first painting up and then try to figure out how to set up studio with low ceiling so that the light matches the light in the shadow box without casting light in the shadowbox and doesn't create a glare on my color matcher.  A worthy puzzle.  Looking forward to being a part of this, and getting advice on becoming a "painter."

Comments

• Hi, @uh_clem .  Welcome to the forum.  :)
    uh_clem
  • Welcome @uh_clem how low is your ceiling?