Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected]om if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Water soluble oils vs traditional oils

Hey all,
I want to move onto oils because I hate how fast acrylic dries and how it dries darker.
I was concerned about having to use turpentine and how to dispose of it and dirty rags and have just learned there is a water soluble oil paint. I am new to painting so still learning about all the paints.
Are water solubles just as good as traditional oils?
Are there any differences other than that you can wash brushes with water and add water to the water solubles?
I'd like the slower drying of oil without the harsh fumes and problem of disposing of turpentine and turpentine soaked rags safely and environmentally friendly.
Thanks in advance.

Comments

• I use winsorandnewton Artisan watermixable colors. I mix them with linseed oil to get them smooth. If you mix them with water they seem to dry quite quick. Before, I used  normal oil paint. I think it makes no difference for the painting process.
  • edited February 8
    You may want to give Geneva oil paint, non toxic, no worries of fumes. There are more cleaning products available that are safer to use that are non toxic, yet powerful cleaners. I also recommend paper towels for clean up rather than rags, easier to dispose of immediately after every painting session, soak them well in water, place them in a plastic bag, seal it and I place it in the freezer until garbage pick up day. I don't recommend using rags. Water soluble paint are very good grade paint, I couldn't get the professional results that I was aiming for. I was using SDM (Slow Dry Mix) but the paint did not maintain in storage as well, but did not try just simple water method. I believe these to be very close to traditional oils.
  • Mario

Love W&N wm oils.
    Less expensive.
    Mix with anything.