Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to forum@drawmixpaint.com if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Rant - Abstract painting

Im a fairly new artist and still exploring styles and techniques hoping that I will find mine in the process. One thing I have always struggled with is abstract art. For the longest time I didnt understand its appeal, but I’ve learned that it’s because it goes against my style and methods.

I naturally gravitate towards realism and impressionism and found DMP and Marks methodology. Since I dont use geneva paints yet, my open time for mixed paint is pretty small, Id say 24-48 hours. 

Since I dont like wasting paint, ive been using the extra paint ive mixed to explore new styles and texchniques such as abstract. Lemme tell ya, I have a new found appreciation for abstract artist because I found it extremely difficult to free myself from the constraints and make an abstract poece of work!
dencalRenoirmariebJPB

Comments

• I have done the same.  I give it all away as decorative art.  To me, without being critical, that is my only interest in it.
    You can make your paint last much longer by mixing your tube paint with a 1:1 stand oil and linseed oil mix with a dash of clove oil, then covering it and placing it in the refrigerator.  Its not the slow dry medium but it will add a day or two to your working time.
    mattyblue
  • There is some logic behind abstract art, but what I find is that the painting of abstract art is far more satisfying than the viewing of same. My thoughts only.

For longer lasting paint, I cover my palette securely with plasric wrap and place it in the freezer. It lasts for days and days. I mix with limseed/stand oil and a little venice turpentine. I cannot tolerate strong odors so I am not able to use It. Freezer works great.
    mattyblue