Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Still Life, ''abstract" realism

Since I get bogged down with details and end up with horrible art, I've decided to step back and take more of a 'abstract' realism. At least, it seems to help me a little. Also, I tend to try to correct everything and end up ruining a painting. This one is just paint slapped on a prepared canvas, warts and all. When I look back at the 'drawing' and lines I put in before I started painting, I see that I did not draw in the glass bowl correctly, so it's rather loppy. 

And while I still am ellipse challenged, I think I've improved a bit when I look back at the first still lifes I did in August/September. I just cannot seem to take a decent photo and then my computer makes everything gray and dull.

Since glass, mirrors, and curves scare the heck out of me, I decided to set up this still life. Sometimes you just gotta live life on the edge, you know what I mean?  B)

(This painting is very loosely based on the second photo below, added as reference since I painted from from the objects themselves and not from a photo)

PaulBMikeDerbyFlattymattyblueForgivenessKaustav

Comments

• I like it! It has a very nice quality where you have suggested the details :)
    Renoir
  • That's really good.  Look at all those edges!
    Renoir
  • Good job here @Renoir. It has a freshness and vigour as a result of not going back over and over
    PaulBRenoir
  • That's great!  My favorite of yours so far.  You have captured the scene beautifully.  I hope you foresake the curse here and call it done.  Re: ellipses, everyone, if Vermeer can paint masterpieces with imperfect ellipses, so can we (see Woman with a Pitcher). Not that we should not try but, just saying.  :)
    Renoir