Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Steps involved in a work??

Does Mark have a video naming and giving examples of the steps involved in a painting, such as...Blocking in, Modelling, etc. I don't even know them all, I'm a super novice, but It would help me a lot, can anyone assist please.

Comments

• I know, I have them all. But just as I have the five colour pallet printed and pinned next to my brush holder, It would be GREAT to have the sequence steps in a list to look at while learning, so as to not forget what you are doing, to save yourself from distraction, like remembering  - DON"T BLEND!, lol It would be like a check list, laminated, so during the first half a dozen or so painting I can use a pen to mark off each step. A seriously handy tool and GREATLY APPRECIATED. Block. Model. Detail. I'm grabbing at straws because I don't know.
  • I don't think there's an actual checklist anywhere like that. If I had to make one to match the DMP approach it would be something like this. 

1) Initial drawing on canvas 

2) Mix color strings 

3) Put correct value and hue where it belongs. No blending. 

4) Soften some edges 

5) Light blending where necessary 

6) Step back and make adjustments. Ask "Which is more subtle, painting or source?"

7) Post on DMP forum and get good advice ;)

8) Sign painting

9 Varnish when dry 
  • Between steps 3 and 4 I would add "Paint in smaller details" 
  • Can't thank you enough. I only remember hearing about the blocking in and modelling and that's it, but thank you greatly.
  • Your welcome! 

You don't do much "blocking in" per say with the DMP method. You pretty much shoot for the finished product right off the bat with your first color pass.