Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Zoey, DMP 4, covered, not quite finished.

8x10 inch painting of my niece. I really like the expression in the photo that she had but there where elements of the photo that have lead to what I consider a failed DMP.  The first problem that I ran into was when I was trying to match the lighter areas of her skin, I would mix colors on my palette that looked very bright then I would check them on the photo and they would look very dark, I know this is part of the DMP method I just figured that the photo I was working from was not edited properly and over exposed( I am new to photography and photo editing).  So in most of the lighter areas of the face I bumped up the values.   I like the way this painting looks and an thinking of just making some minor adjustments and calling it good.

I am thinking of doing a total new painting from my original raw image.  If so  will edit and the original photo and even use some Photoshop to change elements in the original photo, mainly make the tie die shirt she is wearing a little more uniform and lessen the over exposure if I can.  

I use the photo editing software that came with my camera, I bought the Olympus Mark recommends.  I am thinking of learning photo editing on the free software GIMP to edit photos before working from them, if any forum members have an opinion on this I am all ears as I know Mark recommends  photo shop.

As always would love feedback critique and advice.  Thanks!

SummermelTsandwich

Comments

• Here is the photo I was working from
    tassieguy
  • Thanks for the great  advice Kingston, absolutely no need to be sorry.

"Over the years I have seen that bad reference is the biggest drawback to making good paintings. Buying a high end camera and not learning high end process just doesn't make sense."