Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to forum@drawmixpaint.com if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Boy with cap

jarubejarube -
edited October 15 in Post Your Paintings
Boy with cap
40x40cm
oil on canvas

This is a very first time I am showing my work in public, so I want critique.
As I introduced, I am a full time photographer for almost 10 years, started painting this summer.
ForgivenessFlattyJack2015dencaltassieguyKaustavRenoirBOB73Elizawerby

Comments

• Hi @jarube    Thank you for sharing.  I am not a portrait painter so I can't give you any feedback other than my initial reaction - I like the brushwork and freedom and "fun" you seemed to have with the hair.  The colors, to me, look very grey - the hair and shadows seem very cool where perhaps some warmth would do well.  The shoulders seem too high and thin - check your shoulder measurements (turning upside down with reference photo helps - look at negative space).  There are other fine portrait artists here who can help you better - thank you for sharing.  I think this is a fabulous start if this is your first portrait!

• The eyes have good life in them and the expression is good. 
    Also the hair and the cap are well painted. 
    I see nothing to criticise, if I’m honest. 
    Actually on looking at it again , I think I find your signature distracting. At first I saw it as a tattoo.  But maybe this wouldn’t be something that most people would worry about. 
    I’m not a fan of tattoos. I know  I’m probably behind the times in this  ;)
    But I think it’s a great portrait, you have the eye of a photographer which must be a massive help when choosing a subject and settling on a composition. 
  • edited October 13
    Lovely subject and an interesting composition, @jarube.