Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to forum@drawmixpaint.com if you have questions about how to use this forum.

First "real" portrait!

Please critique and give advice.

This is my first attempt at a "real" portrait.  The reference photo is attached followed by the painting.  I didn't like the colors in the reference photo, so I attempted to make up my own.  

It is Geneva oil on a 16 by 20 stretched canvas.

dencalFlattyRenoirMikeDerbyanweshaPaulBSummertassieguyRosanne

Comments

• mstrick96

Great first portrait.

Facial shadows missing - lower lip, base of nose, chin, lower eyelids etc - these values are great opportunities to create form and depth to model the human face.

The hair detail makes this the focus of the painting. The face is softened out of the picture.

The bridge of the nose between the eyes is too broad. Nose too small.

You have done some good work here, just not finished yet. Thanks for posting your work and the photo.

Denis

• This is very good for a first portrait!  I think you’ve made a great start.  As already mentioned, further work on the shadows, especially below her mouth and around her nose, might be the next step.  You might also check the plane of her forehead and cheekbone; it looks as if something’s a bit off there. I would love to see this when you are finished.  I find portraits difficult and I learn so much from seeing how others work.  Thanks for posting! 
    PaulBSummerRenoir
  • Its good.  You did your best work on the most important part, the eyes.  The others have already offered specific areas to work on.  Let me offer you a couple ways.  Have a look at Marks videos on drawing in proportion and then buy a good set of calipers and maybe a proportional divider.  They really help.
    PaulBSummerRenoir
  • SummerSummer -
    edited September 29