Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to forum@drawmixpaint.com if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Help please - problem with black background!!

edited September 14 in Painting
Hello - I am still fairly new to oil painting and having problems with a black background.

I started this painting a couple of months ago and left it aside as I didn't have time to focus on it. I originally used Norma Professional Ivory Black on it. When I went back to the painting two months later, the black was very shiny and I didn't like it (it detracted too much from the hand which is matt). I went over the ivory black with Langridge Mars Black (I no longer use Norma - don't like it - I love Langridge). Now that the black has dried, it has a very mottled affect. Any suggestions as to why this may have happened?

Thought best to ask before I go over it with Langridge Mars Black again in an effort to even it out, and continue working on it.

Fyi - I don't use any mediums or Gamsol etc. There is only oil paint on the canvas.

Many thanks in advance for your help!

Comments

• @Veronica - I am new as well, so I do not have any recommendations for your background, but I must say your rendering is very good. You get a good sense of depth. I look forward to other comments on this and to future paintings of yours. :-)
    Veronica
  • Veronica

Chill about shiny and matt surfaces during the painting process. All will be restored to a uniform lustre when finally varnished in six months.

If you insist on a uniform sheen, oil out with a light coat of linseed oil over dry paint. See Mark's free video.

Denis

Veronica
  • @Renoir - thanks for the feedback! Much appreciated :-)

It's still very much a struggle knowing how to manipulate the medium, but with each painting I learn something new!
    Renoir
  • @dencal - thank you!