Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to forum@drawmixpaint.com if you have questions about how to use this forum.

How much money can you make as a painter?

How much money can you make as a painter? I know this is a broad question but I would love to know what experiences people have had with making money as a painter.

Comments

• edited August 24
    Generally,very little. Especially when you are just starting out. :# 
    Kaustav
  • If you're a self taught artist but serious about taking painting as a career then get a seperate job to pay for the expenses of materials, marketing and exhibition costs. Very few self-taught can get money.
  • Painter8929

http://artfacts.australiacouncil.gov.au/overview/creation-11/ov-fact25/

In 2007-08, the median total income of an artist was estimated by Throsby and Zednik to be around $35,900 and the median creative income was $7,000. However, 17 percent of artists worked full time on their creative practice (more than 38 hours per week) and the median income increased to $22,500. Of those artists working full time, the average time spent on their creative practice was 51 hours per week.[1]

Figure 18 - Median creative incomes (2007-08) and average time spent on creative work by art form

AllTime spent > 38 hrs
    Median incomeAvg time (hrs)Median incomeAvg time (hrs)
    All artists$7,00022$22,50051
    Actors$15,00019$36,00049
    CACD practitioners$14,60022$60,00047
    Composers$8,10020$45,00052
    Craft practitioners$10,00027$13,00051
    Dancers$7,90019$39,00045
    Musicians$7,20018$31,00051
    Visual artists$4,50028$19,20053
    Writers$3,60023$6,10052

Denis

SummerKevinGE
  • ''Ηow much money can you give to paint?'' This is the question I'm currently trying to answer :)
  • Michalis

Add any two phone numbers together for an approximation  :o

Denis
    michalisBOB73
  • walkowalko -
    edited August 24