Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to forum@drawmixpaint.com if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Brush Problems

Hello all, it won't take long before everyone figures out that I am a NEWBIE so here goes.

I pulled out my Bob Ross set of paints that I purchased and started playing around with some Bob Ross instructional videos. It didn't take long into my first session and my brush now looks like a fan brush. There is no way I can paint with this as the brush is too loose and didn't hold its form. I am sure it is all me soooooo, can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong.

Here is a picture of my fat brush: https://pix.sfly.com/612fci

Comments

• imken

Welcome to the DMP Forum.

I suggest an accumulation of pigment is building at the base of the bristles causing them to fan out.
    The heavy use of solvents in the Ross method may be responsible for softening and swelling the resin base that holds the bristles in place.
    A third possibility is rough handling during painting, heavily splaying the bristles over the canvas.

However, this is still a mighty useful brush. Large scumbled foliage and silhouetted tree shapes are easy with this brush. Shabby plaster walls are also easily painted. You will want to buy a brush like this in a year or so.

Nonetheless, two inch brushes are cheap to buy and easy to find. Replace it if necessary.

If you use an oil immersion bath or a brush dip method the brush should retain its shape.

Denis

• Thanks Denis for your comments.
    Tonight was the first time I used this brush and it didn't take but about 30 minutes for both my wife and my brush to look like this. Based on what you said, it makes me think it might be the oderless mineral spirits we were using to clean our brush during our first painting experience.

After we cleaned the brushes they looked the same.