Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to forum@drawmixpaint.com if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Some beginner questions about mixing paints and mediums

I'm new to all this and pardon my silly questions, but I've just mixed up my first batch of all the colors, and used W&N "Artisan" Water Mixable Oils because that's what I had, and I don't really have any money at the moment.  (Also, I was using old-school DELQ, because I bought a tin of it back when I was feeling inspired, and then it sat in storage for years.)

Blue mixed up like a dream... yellow probably still has lumps after 15 minutes of stirring.... My red though... looks like raspberry jam. (Alizarin Crimson tube)

So I guess my beginner questions are two:

1) - Is red supposed to be that dark? Do water mixable oils get darker or something if they sit in storage for years? It looks like blood... maybe a tiny bit purple. (gotta get my color checker)

2) -The "lumps" in such a thing... I've stirred and stirred, gunning for the creamy goodness in Mark's videos. Are they just not going away because I'm using WMO or old paint? Can you deal with that last bit of smashing during the color mixing palette building phase, or is that just going to be a headache? I felt like I needed a mortar and pestle but all I had was a large popsicle stick and a mason jar.

I've left 'em to thin overnight for now (as per the instruction specifically about the yellow), just kinda looking for general new-painter advice.

Side question #3) -- The new series of videos uses a different formula for Titanium White SDM.  In the OLD DVD, he does mention adding clove oil for Burnt Umber, but nothing in particular for white.  So I'm wondering what if anything should be added to my white medium blend, which I've not done yet. I have DELQ, I have Linseed Oil, and I have Clove Oil. (and W&N "Artists' Oil Colour" Titanium White)