Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to forum@drawmixpaint.com if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Hello folks

Hello folks, I go by the name of RobertC.
And this is my first time posting.
Im a 62 year old man , married some 37 years, with three grown daughters with kids,that have their own lives.
I have been drawing most of my life, mostly pencil and charcoal.
Also a little in acrylic.
When it ever came to oil painting I fell flat. Did not know what I was doing.
I had every color in the spectrum,  but still I could never get it right.
Coild not mix the right color or thin it correctly.
All I did was guess at everything.
I also was impatient. I wanted to get to the meat of the painting without proper preparation.
i did not know how  to prep.
In fact I did not know anything about how to paint.

Well later in my life , retired, looking at my wife looking at me. I decided to get back to painting , but from a different angle.
First do a study on mediums. Always had a major problem with mediums, either to thin or to thick.

And if I did have it right I did not know it:)
I Studied from all type of artists, and decided to give it a try.

Also, I decided to get rid of all the old oil paint from past failed attempts of putting paint on a perfecly innocent piece of canvas.
I wanted to paint from just three primary colors and black and white.

Now that was a tall order to follow, when in fact I did not have a clue in mixing colors when I had the thirty tubes of paint. Let alone five tubes.

I humored myself anyway and moved on.

I started a painting of my grand daughter of a pic I took some twelve years back.
After training through numerous hours of YouTube , It began In what I thought was going pretty good.

That is until I ran across Marks website.
Everything changed. I thought I was painting somewhere in the vicinity of calling myself and artist.