Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to forum@drawmixpaint.com if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Primary Colors

As mentioned on the Introduction Page here, I am just starting out.  Before coming across Mark’s videos and his recommended limited palette, I had purchased a number of colors (it’s “colour’ in Canada) to learn color theory and experiment with mixing and matching. 

After testing several, I thought Cobalt Blue (i.e. close to hex code 0000FF) was the closest a true primary blue, Pyrrole Red (FF0000) close to a primary red.  I found a yellow called ‘primary’ yellow (it's somewhere between light to medium). 

Mark’s limited palette uses a darker blue and a darker red (even though the yellow seems close to a primary yellow).  So my question is (probably a dumb question) Why?

Is it to prevent the temptation to end up painting with colors that are too bright? Is it better to mix with primary colors that are ‘dirty’ to avoid this - even though there may be slight traces of other colors in them (i.e. green, etc.)? 

In theory, it shouldn’t matter how you get there, but real life I’m sure there are good reasons for his Geneva color selections.  The videos I have seen so far don’t seem to directly address this issue. 

Thoughts. 

(For beginning projects and mixing practice and I'm going to use up what have.  If I make sufficient progress I'll consider investing in Mark's Geneva colors.) 

Comments

• p.s. the reason I posted this question is that the 'primary' starting points seems to make a real difference in the initial greens and oranges and violets you get, and then the following subsequent colors you mix thereafter. 

Or am I wrong.  Is the starting point of the limited palette's primary colors somewhat discretionary, because in the end you can always manage the final destination?