Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to forum@drawmixpaint.com if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Burnt umber and alizarine crimson

Hello, 

I live in Montreal and recently bought some paints (the colours recommended for the limited palette) from a company here called Kama pigments. They sell high quality raw and mixed pigments. I bought tubes of oil paint rather than the raw powders.

My first question is about burnt umber: I had previously a small tube of windsor and newton burnt umber and the Kama burnt umber is a VERY different colour. It's a much lighter (less red?) brown. Can anyone explain this? They're using, as I understand, the very pure raw pigment. Why is it such a different colour? I'm just learning and I bought a large tube so ultimately I've decided I have to make it work. Any tips?

Second, I also bought a tube of alizarine crimson, not permanent alizarine crimson. I googled around and found there are some very strong opinions about the superiority of permanent alizarine crimson over alizarine crimson. I'm just learning and I'm going to work with what I've got but can anyone explain what is really different about these pigments? 

This is Kama. (Not trying to promote the competition here-- I think Kama is only available in Canada and Geneva isn't available here anyway).  
http://www.kamapigment.com/en/company/kama-pigments-history.html

Thanks for your help!

Melissa

Comments

• For burnt umber there can be a wide variety of colours depending on the way the pigment (PBr7) was created. Raw Sienna, Burnt Sienna, Raw Umber and Burnt Umber can all be created with the same pigment, just treated a different way. Alternatively it may be that Iron Oxide (PR101) was used which can be more of a reddish brown colour. Do you have the pigment information on the tube?