Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to forum@drawmixpaint.com if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Hello from Croatia! + source photo help

Hi everyone, my name is Nikola, I am an art history student but I really want to paint for the rest of my life. Mark's teaching is what influenced me to want to become a painter and I will never be able to express all my gratitude to everyone at Geneva. Also there is a lot of interesting and useful stuff here on the forum.
 I was thinking of doing a painting of my dog Nera and I have some questions about my possible source photo. I know it's not that good for a source probably, I took it with an iphone 4s and changed it here and there just on my laptop. I don't have a camera so I've done the best I could. I was hoping you guys could point out what's wrong with the photo in terms of exposure, contrast and so on, because my goal is to have a photograph that is as close to real life as possible (I usually don't like the photography effects in paintings)
Any help would be more than welcome!!

Comments

• Hello nikola

Welcome to the Forum.

in my opinion this is a poor photograph, let alone a photo to paint from.

From your art history studies you will have formed an appreciation of the qualities that make a good representative and realist image.  How accurate and true to life is this image? 

The black shapes are an abstraction of a dog, recognisable only from the eye highlight and the lighter value on the nose. However, if this photo says something special to you then paint it.

I suggest taking another set of shots in brighter light. Ask Google images to show you dog pictures to get a big range of ideas about framing, composition, lighting, action, pose etc.

Denis

nikolaBOB73
  • Hi, Nikola. Welcome to the forum.