Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Richard's Blog

Comments

• Fighting the thin paint moving around too much on a smooth surface and showing the background through. The problem of working in alla-prima. :/

So I've spent some time experimenting with different textures and roughnesses (with sanding and clear gesso) to find the best roughness to grab the paint and stop this happening so much.

Should now be easier on the next painting.
  • Almost done. Just a few touches to add and then I need to try to take a good photograph! :)
  • I saw it! I am literally dumbstruck.
  • Thank you Bob, I'll take that as a compliment! :)
  • Now it's done I will wait till it's dry and then varnish with Gamsol. I've never used it before so will test first on another painting. Once the varnish is dry I might get the painting framed unless anyone wants to buy it.

I enjoyed that! :)
  • "enjoyed"? I think you should be thrilled.
  • Yes I am thrilled. It's probably the best painting I've done so far :)
  • post a final photo please!
  • I will once I get one taken. I only have a camera phone, so will ask a professional (gallery) to do it :)

I'm working on creating a new painting board to fit on my easel to make it easier to paint. Hard to explain as still experimenting with it, but will post if it works out.

Next I have a painting of a friend's mother that she has asked me to do. She only has a few very old black and white photos to work from unfortunately, so neither are ideal. But that's all she has so well have to make do.