Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

What is the Carder Method?

Hello everyone,

I have watched Carder's youtube video on painting a meta cup and while I thought he was too technical (the color finder was a turnoff at the time) I am now wondering if his ways of creating a painting are the ways that most masters do it.

I have been working on an oil painting (I'm new to oils and never have been a great drawer, please accept my apologies for the poor work), and while it IS,my best oil painting and I am pleased in that regard, the painting just doesn't look realistic and it doesn't seem to have good value structure to it. Your thoughts?

Is there some video, tool or book that will get me closer to where I want to be? Most of my books talk about painting principles and about tools, but they say little about actually doing things with oil paint.
marieb

Comments

• Here is the painting I am working on, very frustrated.
  • dencaldencal -
    edited October 2015
    thevaliantx
    Is there some video, tool or book that will get me closer to where I want to be?
    Yes. Press this button at the top of this page for the most helpful and comprehensive art instruction anywhere. All kindly provided, mostly free by Mark Carder.

The color checker was invented by Mark to help beginners like me to discriminate values with some degree of certainty. Like Mark himself, once your eye is in you won't need it anymore. A bit like a set of training wheels.

Denis

V&T.jpg 28.7K
    Mark_Carder
  • edited October 2015