Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to forum@drawmixpaint.com if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Water Soluble Oils

I am new to oil painting. I have been given a lot of water soluble oil paints. My studio is my kitchen, so I like the idea that the WS oils are low odor and can be cleaned up with soap and water. Do any of you have experience with the water soluble oils?

Comments

• elizabethsnow

Yes! I have used W&N WS oils for a few years now, as do several other DMP folks.
    I use them, not with water, but with ws mediums and freely intermix the ws paint with normal oil paint and non ms mediums. I have adopted an oil immersion storage for brushes, so cleaning up is not a problem. The benefit is avoiding heavy solvent odour for indoor painting.

The ws oils have a much lower cost, behave quite predictably and perform in much the same way as normal oil paint. I have not noticed any problems with pigment strength, fading, cracking or delaminating.

Denis

• Yes I'm with Denis. I've use WN Artisan water mixable oils They are great for some applications and not for others. Like painting in the rain. Or hot sun because they get greasy. If you use Artisan medium, clean your brushes in Artisan Oil clean up is a breeze. The colors are also mixable with standard oil paints. They are not as buttery out of the tube but after a little mixing with a knife you can't tell the difference.

Good luck and have fun.
    Martin_J_Crane
  • Thanks Denis and Kingston. The paints I will have are Cobra and W&N Artisan brands. From the reviews I've read, Cobra can be oily, and Artisan can be sticky. I am used to watercolours, so am expecting using oils to involve quite a learning experience. It's great to have knowledgeable people like you to turn to.
  • I have just joined this form a few minutes ago, and this will be my first comment.