Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Gesso?

Hi all. So I'm a total newbie and I believe I have now finally gathered all my materials and am about ready to begin. I just had a quick question about Gesso and staining. The question is basically do I need to gesso the canvas or is staining the same thing. I talked with an artist and she said that she always gessos before putting on a wash. I have one stretched linen canvas and a couple of panels. I thought I'd give both a try in the early going to see what I prefer. So any help here is appreciated.

Total novice,
Joel

Comments

• Hi @jdfick No gesso and staining are not the same. Gesso will give your pigment something to grab on to and prevents your paint absorbing too much into the canvas/linen, it's glue basically. Staining the canvas (once the gesso is thoroughly dry) takes away the stark white of the canvas/linen and gives a more neutral colour on which to paint. I would suggest you look at Mark on you tube staining a pre- gesso'd canvas. I'm sure you will get better answers to follow, I'm just a newby.

• Okay so do you also have to gesso a panel? I assume there would be no absorption on a panel. Or do you still do it for the sake of coverage? Is gesso essentially like primer that I would use on my walls?