Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Hello Everyone!

Hello Everyone.

Im Edi.

I am an art student who is learning digital art, im still new to all that but i think it ´s better to start with traditional media because it´s a wonderful way to learn how color Works.

I recently saw all of Mark videos enough to inspire me to work in oils to make paintings for the first time in my life, i really want to learn to paint and im happy to be here, i hope to learn a lot and to help you all with anything i can.

I already made my palette table and my color checker, however, i wanted to ask if anyone knows where to get Mark´s five Winsor & Newton favourite oil painting pigments?.

Im from Mexico, so a lot of the brands that are available in other countries hardly come here, i managed to find 3 of the oils he mentioned (althought the paints i got have the name “WINTON” along the Winsor & Newton label, dunno if that means anything.)

>French Ultramarine.

>Permanent Alizarin Crimson.

>Cadmium Yellow Pale Hue (i only managed to find it with “Hue” at the end, is it the same cadmium yellow pale?)

>Titanium White (i only got the Winsor & Newton one instead of the recomenderd Rembrandt Brand one, i asked various shops if they had Rembrandt artist oil colour titanium White but they all told me Rembrandt doenst come here to Mexico due to it´s high Price).

>Couldn´t find any Winsor & Newton Burnt Umber anywhere.

Do anyone know any good Brand to use besides Winsor & Newton?, here in Mexico, there´s a very common one, “Atl” is the Brand,of it, i don´t think it exist outside of mexico.

In any case, i just wanted to ask if the Brand of oil doesn´t matter, because here, it will be really hard to find a lot of the materials in the supply list.