Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Medium - Confusion.

Hello all, I wonder if someone here can advise me about a couple of questions thats so simple to many yet very confusing to me. >>> (have my learner plates on)

(Background) - I am a self taught painter, who has always painted in Water colour and gouache. I have zero knowledge of oils. (time for a change) I have always had a big interest in oils, but have been put off using them because of a lack of understanding the method. ( soooo happy to have found Marks site, ) - while researching.

I have decided to give oils my full attention for the next six months.

I have purchased Artisan oils WMO ( because im sensitive to turps etc )- im confused about WHEN & HOW to use (mediums e.g. Linseed, safflower, stand and also >painting medium).

Can someone please explain to me the use sequence etc of using these products? ^^^^

Also - how do we measure Fat over lean? I read each top layer must be fatter?

I sincerely thank you all in advance for any help or suggestions you may give that can help me with these two questions.

Merritt

Comments

• Merritt

Artisan Oils have the oil component in the tube chemically modified to mix with water if desired.

Artisan can also be mixed with their own range of chemically modified mediums and solvents produced by Winsor and Newton - These are labeled "Water Mixable"

Artisan can also be mixed with standard mediums and solvents, though you cannot wash our brushes in water, that is they should be regarded as a normal oil paint if you mix with (Non Water Mixable) standard mediums and solvents.