Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Wood Panels

I wanted to try painting on wood panels. So I purchased several 12" x12" boards to give it a try.
How to prep the raw wood surface? Do I gesso or can i just paint directly on the wood?
Thanks
David

Comments

• dencaldencal -
    edited March 31
    Onerom1945

Fiind a quality wood primer and treat back, front and sides, to avoid moisture absorption and warping.
    Apply two or more coats of gesso, lightly sanding surface as you go.
    Finally, apply a toning layer in oil or acrylic.

Denis
    BOB73Onerom1945Ephram
  • Wallpaper glue can be used to seal the back and sides--it's by far the cheapest option and does the trick quite nicely.
  • Presumably by "wood" you actually mean plywood, or "Masonite"/hardboard.  As a woodworker, I am not a big fan of Masonite, it is yucky stuff, I prefer real wood, and part of the reason is that I know what is in real wood.  Though by real wood, for paneIs, I mean a very high grade of plywood which is a miracle material that is an incredible value.  Birch, aircraft, or marine grade plywood.  That said, it seems the vast majority of painters love "Masonite".  I read somewhere the name was sold on, today, you get whatever HD, or whomever can find for a price, and there is no way of knowing what is in it.  Not exactly archival, in my way of looking at it.