Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Bandit - Cat Portrait

This is a portrait of Bandit, a stray I took in last spring. He now lives with my brother and SIL in Virginia.

Constructive criticism is always welcome. I am new to pet portraits and looking to improve. Capturing likeness is challenging on an animal. So any pointers are welcome!

RenoirArtGalPaulBBuckyBoudiccaalsartjeffanweshadencalDiannaElizaMichaelDmahdiSummerElize

Comments

• I will leave the experts to give you pointers, but I must say, I think you achieved a tremendous likeness. We are owned by 4 cats and each cat has its own personality. I think you 'cat'ptured it <3
    PaulBNorquist
  • Hi @Norquist, you definitely captured the likeness. The composition is a bit problematic with the paws cut off. One of the things I see often with pet photos/portraits is the angle at which the photos are taken. The dog or cat is sitting on the ground and the person taking the photo is standing which leads to a less than ideal pose. Check out @jen_art on Instagram - she does a lot of pet and other animal portraits with interesting compositions.
    MichaelDBOB73Norquist
  • Cats all look alike to me so I'm not one to give good advice. The painting is nice though. Maybe slightly darker shadow value under the animal's face might dive it more depth and a better shape definition.
    NorquistMelissa
  • A very good likeness but I think you need to put more detail into the fur if you can. 
    You’ve definitely captured the likeness though. 
    And Bob , cats are NOT all alike !! 😊
    NorquistMelissa
  • great likeness! i like the background too!
    Norquist
  • edited March 26
    She's lovely, @Norquist! you sure got her likeness. I agree with @Boudicca re the front paws. But the eyes are awesome. And the background works well, too. :)
    Norquist