Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

You can send an email to [email protected] if you have questions about how to use this forum.

Mediums and solvents?

Hi, I'm new to oil painting! I would like to know what mediums and solvents you guys use and for what purpose? I don't have a very good idea of what linseed oil turpentine etc. does to paint or if its harmful to breathe in? I'm looking for something that can make my "georgian oil" paints.
•slow drying
•glossy 
•smooth/ easy to use. And non toxic. 
Any feedback helps! Thanks!

Comments

• PaulBPaulB mod
    Welcome.  Check out Mark's videos and supply lists, and you'll find you can work with no mediums or solvents, or you can mix your own SDM.
  • Thanks ! and I have been watching a lot of his videos. The thing is I want to get my paint like his "Genava paint" using mediums. Hopefully one day I can get a few of his tubes. I just really like all the characteristics his paint has.
  • PaulBPaulB mod
    Great.  Go find the SDM recipe on the supply list and that should do it.

• Welcome to the Forum

Mark’s brand of paint called Geneva is smooth, non toxic, highly pigmented, slow dry and premixed with medium.

Here are Mark’s recipes for his slow dry medium for use with other brands of oil paint.

There are currently no mediums on the market that slow the drying rate of oil paint adequately, so you will need to make it yourself.

recipe for slow-dry medium (for all colors except titanium white):

• 10 parts odorless mineral spirits (any artist-grade odorless mineral spirits will do)
    • 5 parts stand oil or linseed stand oil (this is viscous like honey and is not the same as refined linseed oil)
    • 1 part refined linseed oil
    • 5 parts Venice turpentine *
    • 2 parts oil of cloves †